©Mitsumasa Fujitsuka 
TOTO GALLERY·MA is a gallery specializing in architecture and design that is operated by TOTO as part of the company's social contribution program. The gallery takes its name from the unique Japanese concept of ma-ai, which describes the spatiotemporal intervals or connective voids that are perceived between people, time, and space.

Since opening in October 1985, TOTO GALLERY·MA has remained devoted to organizing solo exhibitions of architects and designers from across the world. The gallery offers exhibitors with a unique opportunity to freely demonstrate their individuality by allowing them to design their own exhibitions and to comprehensively shape the spaces of the entire gallery as a single creative presentation. The gallery itself has a distinctive spatial configuration in which its two independent exhibition rooms are connected by an exterior courtyard. Although modest in size at approximately 240 square meters, the gallery's intimate spaces enable the creation of exhibitions that are richly imbued with the philosophies and values of the exhibitors.

The exhibitions at TOTO GALLERY·MA are planned by its Planning and Management Committee. The original committee was formed by the founders of TOTO GALLERY·MA: Tadao Ando, Motomi Kawakami, Masayuki Kurokawa, Takashi Sugimoto, and Ikko Tanaka. A new committee was elected on the occasion of the gallery’s 25th anniversary in 2010 and it is now represented by Tadao Ando (Special Advisor), Waro Kishi, Kazuyo Sejima, Hiroshi Naito, and Erwin Viray.

In addition to hosting exhibitions, TOTO GALLERY·MA has organized accompanying lecture events to provide an opportunity for each exhibitor to share their ideas directly with a public audience. Starting in 1995, TOTO GALLERY·MA has also been operating together with TOTO Publishing to issue publications to convey a multifaceted picture of the ideas of each architect and designer in combination with its exhibitions and lecture events.

TOTO GALLERY・MA aims to continue to transmit the messages of its exhibitors, who each shine with a unique light, by serving as a place for independent architects and designers to express their personal philosophies and values throughout the years to come..
TOTO GALLERY·MA Planning and Management Committee Members
Special Advisor
Tadao Ando
Architect. Born in 1941. Self-educated in architecture. Established Tadao Ando Architect & Associates in 1969. Professor at the University of Tokyo from 1997. Became a professor emeritus in 2003 and special university professor in 2005. Has received numerous awards, including the Architectural Institute of Japan Prize, Alvar Aalto Medal (Finland), Japan Art Academy Award, Pritzker Architecture Prize (USA), Praemium Imperiale (Japan), American Institute of Architects Gold Medal (USA), and International Union of Architects Gold Medal. Awarded the Order of Culture (Japan) in 2010.
Committee Member
Waro Kishi
Architect. Born in 1950. Graduated from the Department of Electrical Engineering of the Kyoto University Faculty of Engineering in 1973. Received a Masters in Architecture from the Graduate School of Kyoto University in 1978. Has presented numerous architectural works with K. ASSOCIATES/Architects. Main awards include the Japan Institute of Architects Newcomer’s Prize of 1993 and the Architectural Institute of Japan Prize of 1996. Professor at the Graduate School of Kyoto University since 2010.
Committee Member
Kazuyo Sejima
Architect. Born in 1956. Graduated from the Japan Women's University Graduate School in 1981. Worked at Toyo Ito & Associates, Architects before establishing Kazuyo Sejima & Associates in 1987. Founded SANAA (Sejima and Nishizawa and Associates) together with Ryue Nishizawa in 1995. Director of the 12th International Architecture Exhibition of the 2010 Venice Biennale. Prominent awards include the 1998 Architectural Institute of Japan Prize*; Golden Lion of the International Architecture Exhibition of the 2004 Venice Biennale* (Italy); 2006 Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Art Prize (Japan); 2009 Officer of the Order of Arts and Letters (France); 2010 Pritzker Architecture Prize* (USA); and 2013 Silver T-Square Prize* (France). (*awarded to SANAA)
Committee Member
Hiroshi Naito
Architect. Born in 1950. Holds a master’s degree from the Graduate School of Waseda University. Worked in the architectural offices of Fernando Higueras and Kiyonori Kikutake before establishing Naito Architect & Associates in 1981. Taught at the University of Tokyo Department of Civil Engineering from 2001. Executive Vice President of the University of Tokyo from 2010. Professor emeritus and Senior Advisor to the Office of the President at the University of Tokyo from 2011.
Committee Member
Erwin Viray
Architectural critic. Born in 1961. Graduated from the University of Philippines in 1982. Received a Master of Engineering in Architecture from the Kyoto Institute of Technology in 1986 and a Doctor of Engineering in Architecture from the University of Tokyo in 1991. Taught as an assistant professor in the Department of Architecture at the School of Design and Environment of the National University of Singapore before becoming a professor in the Department of Architecture and Design of the Kyoto Institute of Technology’s School of Science and Technology in July 2011. Appointed as a Global Excellence Professor, University President aide of the Kyoto Institute of Technology in July 2015.
DAC (TOTO Design Advisory Committee) formed by Tadao Ando, Motomi Kawakami, Masayuki Kurokawa, Takashi Sugimoto, and Ikko Tanaka
GALLERY·MA established by DAC members
Tadao Ando, Motomi Kawakami, Masayuki Kurokawa, Takashi Sugimoto, and Ikko Tanaka appointed as planning and management committee members
1st Exhibition “The Works of Frank O. Gehry”
Awarded the Japan Inter-Design Forum Award Corporate Inter-Design Prize
5th Anniversary Exhibition “Image of Space ‘90”
Second exhibition space added to 4th floor of the TOTO Nogizaka Building
10th Anniversary Exhibition “The 53 Origins”
Began making books with TOTO Publishing in conjunction with the exhibitions
Launched Kukan-jutsu Koza [Series of Lectures on the Art of Space Design] sessions in which exhibitors facilitate discussions with guest panelists
Awarded Mainichi Design Award Special Prize
15th Anniversary Exhibition “10 City Profiles from 10 Young Architects”
Began organizing travelling exhibitions in collaboration with regional universities
Awarded 2002 Japan Mécénat Award for Disseminating Quality Information
100th Memorial Exhibition “Architecture of Tomorrow”
Planning and Management member Ikko Tanaka passes away
20th Anniversary Exhibition “Contemporary Japanese Houses, 1985–2005”
25th Anniversary Exhibition “GLOBAL ENDS—towards the beginning”
Tadao Ando (Special Advisor), Waro Kishi, Hiroshi Naito, Kenya Hara(resigned 2014), Tokujin Yoshioka (resigned 2012) appointed to new Planning and Management Committee
Erwin Viray appointed to Planning and Management Committee
Nobuyuki Endo awarded The Appreciation Prize of AIJ 2013
Kazuyo Sejima appointed to Planning and Management Committee
Exhibitions Hosted: 150 (as of December 2014)
Gallery Information
TOTO Nogizaka Building 3F, 1-24-3 Minami-Aoyama, Minato-ku, Tokyo 107-0062
Monday; National, Summer, and New Year Holidays; and between exhibitions

※Hours and dates of operation may differ by exhibition.
Please check the calendar on the TOTO GALLERY·MA website for up-to-date information.
・1-min. walk from Nogizaka Station (Exit 3) on the Chiyoda subway line
・6-min. walk from Roppongi Station (Exit 7) on the Toei Oedo subway line
・7-min. walk from Roppongi Station (Exit 4a) on the Hibiya subway line
・7-min. walk from Aoyama-itchome Station (Exit 4) on the Ginza or Hanzomon or Oedo subway line